Zakat is one of the five pillars of Islam and also an act of worship.
It means ‘to purify’, so paying a portion of one’s assets to help those in need purifies all of a Muslim’s wealth and makes the wealth that has been gained pleasing to Allah (swt).
Who receives Zakat?
  • – The Poor
  • – The Needy
  • – Collectors of Zakat
  • – Those whose hearts are to be reconciled
  • – Those in Debt
  • – In the path of Allah (swt)
  • – Travellers who cannot afford to return home (wayfarer)
Who pays Zakat?
All Muslim adults who are sane and possess the nisab (a minimum amount of wealth held for a year should pay Zakat.